More on Obama and Religion — with a side of Comfort

O good, here’s a perfect example of the silliness that adherence to religious labels promotes. A recent article titled Not quite Muslim, not quite Christian by author Ilana Mercer asserts that Obama is a Muslim whether he wants to be or not. She states: 

Obama’s patrilineal ties to Islam – Muslim father and grandfather – make him a Muslim by birth.

She says that he may be an Apostate of Islam, but in any case,

If elected, Obama will also be the first post-Christian president.

Her religious mind is so caught up in its other-wordly mumbo-jumbo that she believes one cannot be the arbiter of one’s own belief system. This reminds me of something I saw on Ray Comfort’s exceedingly condescending blog the other day:

There is a difference between being a “believer” and being a Christian. Every sane human being is a “believer” in God’s existence. Some people pretend He doesn’t exist (atheists) but they know He does.

Yup, according to Mr. Comfort, the only way to be a real atheist is to be insane. Otherwise you ARE a believer, and he knows it

Likewise, Ms. Mercer has some very firm opinions on what a “real” Christian is…

Christian doctrine decrees that embracing Jesus Christ as personal savior is the only road to redemption. Jesus said, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” Obama disagrees. He, the Holy Son, says: “There are many paths to the same place.” Is that Christianity? Apparently so in post-Christian America.

Does such an inclusive view really make hard-line Christians wince? Does the thought that non-Christians may (think they can) backdoor their way into heaven without bowing down in worship to Jesus really get under their skin. Furthermore, does it really make them want to vote Republican?

5 Responses

  1. this reminds me of a game that’s played on one of my favorite morning talk shows (the Junkies), “where are they from”, which are trivia questions about where a celebrity was born. the creator of the game’s contention is that you are from where-ever you were born. so Adelina (my wife) is from Chile, even though she lived her whole life in Sweden….and Obama is Hawaiian and McCain is Panamanian. i bet Ms. Mercer would say the same.

  2. My priest once posed a question to the congregation. The gist was, are we really prepared to say those who have never been taught of or introduced to God as our creator and Jesus Christ as his son will be forever barred from the gates of heaven, merely because they’ve never been given the choice to accept or deny the idea. I’d like to say Father Martin would wince at Ms. Mercer’s views. Besides, if God is great and good and blah blah blah, who the f@$* are we mere humans to judge the convictions, beliefs, or approval of God of another. It’s bullshit if you ask me. Anywho…I thought that I was what I eat. I eat meat, and occassionally, I snack on a piece of Christ…so I guess that makes me the Son of God, too. SWEET!

  3. Please clarify. Is she saying to be Muslim you need only be born by Muslims; however, to be Christian being born into the family isn’t enough you must also choose to accept Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior? So Christians have the choice to be or not be but Muslims do not? That doesn’t sound right to me.

  4. “…Does such an inclusive view really make hard-line Christians wince? Does the thought that non-Christians may (think they can) backdoor their way into heaven without bowing down in worship to Jesus really get under their skin. Furthermore, does it really make them want to vote Republican?…”

    I am a Christian, although I’m not sure of your definition of a ‘hard-line’ Christian is; I’m fundamentalist in the original sense of the term. Yes, it does cause me to wince, in that I am concerned that many folks are misled…specifically, those that believe they will spend eternity in heaven without accepting Jesus Christ as their Lord.
    As for it ‘getting under our skin’, for me, it is a matter of concern for others, and defense of the faith as presented in the scriptures. “Many ways” is not what is taught in the Gospels; quite the contrary.
    Republicans?! I will gladly vote for a Democrat (or a candidate from any other party) with a proven agenda that best reflects those things that concern me. I would imagine that most would answer in the same fashion. Living under the conviction of my faith, I cannot vote for anyone that furthers an agenda that is counter to it; rather, I should say, that I chose not to do so.
    Obviously, the Republican Party has made an art out of pandering to my beliefs. It is a sad situation, and increasingly I feel like completely withdrawing from political participation altogether.
    I’m sure that was all rhetorical, but these are my thoughts if you’re really interested.

    Warm regards.

  5. Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

