Are You Racist Like Me?

I was shocked… nay, appalled at the results when I took the Project Implicit “Race” test last night. This test exposes prejudices one may have on a variety of things that one can be prejudiced about (Race, Religion, Gender, Sexuality, etc). It may be the result of social imprinting… or you might just be prejudiced.  

The tests consist of sorting words and pictures into groups. For example, it will give you words like freedom or happiness and you put them into the “good” group. If it gives you despair or violence you put them into “bad.” It then mixes the words with faces and asks you to sort them either as good/bad or African/European.

I don’t want to tell you more, I’d rather you take the test, look at the results and let me know. I came back as having a “preference” toward Europeans (and this with me knowing the test was trying to “detect” racism — and me attempting to ensure I came back “unbiased”). What it showed me was that my automatic reactions are quite different than more thoughtful ones… but it was a frustrating lesson to learn… 

Give it a try!

Oh, and if this is a topic that is interesting to you, check out Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink.

12 Responses

  1. O my brothers, after viddying that with me peepers i feel a bit of the ultraviolence, real Ludvig Von-like…

  2. came back no strong preference. i think it’s crap. especially since after the ‘test’ portion, it asked several questions among which was something like ‘do you prefer blah blah race’.

    was my “no strong preference” based solely on the picture/word sorting portion? did my answers to the poll questions affect my result?

  3. I forget where I read or heard this, but I heard that most often those who claim to not have any prejudice at all are the ones who can be the most prejudice. I think it all boils down to admitting you are human.

  4. I think the questions after the results were more about how you would personally answer the question, and how that answer corresponds to these “results”. I did notice that I had more difficult time wrapping my mind around remembering the configuration where AfricanAmerican/Good were placed together. It may not be what I wanted to see but sometimes what we tell ourselves is not that same as what is.

  5. I think the test is based only on the speed/hesitancy and the number of “mistakes” you make during sorting… the reason they ask those questions toward the end (before showing you the results) is to ensure the results do not “color” those answers…

    I don’t think it’s crap, but i do think that the “unconscious” (or whatever you want to call it) prejudice that the test may or may not reveal need not be binding… btw I retook the exam and came back with “no preference” also… i don’t know what that means, but the results did change my 2nd time around…

  6. I think it means that you had the Practice Effect. You were “coached” into knowing how you should respond. I think your second result shouldn’t be considered an accurate reflection of what they were measuring.

    Although, a test that you are not able to take again eliminates the opportunity to determine it’s reliability.

  7. I have a moderate preference for African American people. I think it mostly has to do with how coordinated you are! Do you think my being pregnant has any bearing? It would be interesting to know.

  8. Is there an option that says you are unbiased??

    I came back as prefering African American, slightly, I think it said.

    I would like to take more of the tests. I am not sure what they mean though..you know, how what I did determines my racism.

    that was confusing, to me.

  9. I took the gay/straight one and it said I do not prefer one over the other.

    Its confusing to me how it works.

    explain, if you can. please.
    x

  10. I think I touched on this before. Recent research shows we have a biological bias in that it’s generaly more difficulty telling persons apart from how they look if they are of another race.

    This doesn’t say much though. It’s like the religious doctrine that one should not have desire for another mans property, cattle, wife and so on (and it’s interesting women is indirectly listed as a property). This is a definition of thought crime. It is too much to forbid contemplating these thoughts.

    The point is, of course these kind of tests are good for conciousness raising, but primary it’s what we do, not what we think what matters the most. There’s no need for any gasp-factor if you get a result of bias.

  11. I have to take that test yet but I’m pretty sure I’m not a racist. Thanks for the link!🙂

  12. i hate whites and blacks, i hate whites a little more than blacks, BUT the test said I hate blacks? this test is complete garbage

Leave a Reply

