He’s a PC

I think some Latin guy somewhere said something about comics/comedians and truth telling, but the fact-checking department is on vacation this week, so you’ll have to take my word for it. It was a pleasant surprise to find such grounded political analysis (and stumping for scientific, reality based thinking) from John Hodgman, Courtesy of the Onion AV Club, somewhere around page 3:

That’s magical thinking. It doesn’t make it so just because you want something. Just because John McCain wants to be President does not mean that it must happen. That’s the same magical thinking that really undid Hillary Clinton. It was like, “I don’t need to put forward a compelling argument for my candidacy. My candidacy is a compelling argument for my candidacy. I want to be President. Obviously, you all know it’s time. Let’s get this over with.” That wasn’t good enough to go against somebody who I think really has looked at the reality of election, saw all the opportunities where he could make gains, saw that she was totally neglecting the caucus states, saw that that was a place where he could take an advantage, planned for it, took the advantage, and won. That’s science. Do you know what I mean? That’s reality triumphing over magical thinking.

It may be pretty self evident stuff to some, but I found it to be one of the best expressions of what is going on. And I watch MSNBC and PBS. Oh, and there are also some comedic nuggets in there.

Leave a Reply

